Ethnics, Cultures & Religions

The top and the second top pictures were taken at KDCA-Hongkod, 2008, the third below is Gawai beauties from Sarawak.

Sabah and Sarawak are celebrating their Kaamatan and Gawai respectively on May 30th and 31st. Those words mean to say celebration to mark the end of paddy harvesting season-Harvest Festival.

Just to remind my fellow cultural and ethnics enthusiasts, Kadayan ethnic together with Bisaya from Kuala Penyu are the only Muslim ethnics that were originally involved in paddy planting just as much as the non Muslim ethnics in the interior ( I am hopping somebody can tell me more about this )

There were two types of paddy plantings, one is padi sawah-wet padi and the other is  padi tuggal-hill padi.

Of course different ethnic groups have different padi rituals. I didn’t get a chance to see the Kadayan and Bisaya’s ways of respecting padi in as much as  I know  about the Kadazan and Dusun’s  through my reading. 

For the Lundayeh, being my close neighbour whose padi feilds were close to my parent’s I didn’t  see either. But what I long most, perhaps I will never to get to see again is the mucang-Kadayan’s word for gontong royong. In my parent’s padi field in those days regardless what ethnics and religion were neighbours all helping each other by turn. They did the mucang every padi season.

Leave a Reply

